Daily Nugget–May 17

I realized that come this Friday, I will have posted every day for a whole month. Hurray!

Today my family and I marathon-ed several Star Wars films. We watched The Empire Strikes Back last night, and today, my brother was sick so we watched Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith. I love Star Wars, and Obi Wan’s line from Revenge of the Sith, “WELL THEN YOU ARE LOST,” as they’re fighting on Mustafar has always been my favorite. He says it with such conviction, and it’s so much fun to kind of yell it at my siblings when they (or I) say something rather stupid.

mustafar

But I realized today as we were watching that it has relevance to yesterday’s post. I’m not quoting these lines exactly, but they’re bashing at each other with their lightsabers, and Obi Wan says something like, “But the Chancellor,” (or the Sith, or someone) “is evil!” Anakin shoots back, “From my point of view, the Jedi are evil,” which is really him mimicking Palpatine’s earlier line about good and bad being a point of view.

This really makes the point about postmodernism, and the idea that truth, or right and wrong don’t really exist, is complete, for lack of a better word, crap.

I’m really trying hard not to make this blog into a ranting platform, so I’ll stop there, but I’d never really noticed that about Star Wars before, and it makes me like that line even more. I’m really going to enjoy yelling ” WELL, THEN YOU ARE LOST!” at people even more now.

Leave a comment